## BY ALDS. RAINEY, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, PEREZ, LEWIS, JOHNSON

*Resolution recognizing Eric Benét as an incredible musician who made significant contributions to the music industry and Milwaukee.* 

## WHEREAS,

## **ERIC BENÉT**

amazed fans with his performance at Mr. J's Lounge in Milwaukee on January 5, 2018 and is recognized for his stellar music career; and

**WHEREAS**, Eric Benét is dedicated to crafting authentic music that engages the soul which can be heard in his latest top 5 Urban AC single 'Sunshine; 'and

WHEREAS, Eric Benét has captured audiences with eight studio albums; and

**WHEREAS**, Eric Benét has deep roots in Milwaukee, first, as the singer for a pop group called Gerard in the late '80s, and later, as a founding member of the band Benét with his sister Lisa and cousin George Nash in the early '90s; and

**WHEREAS,** Eric Benét was signed by Warner Bros. as a solo artist in 1994, and his 1996 solo debut 'True to Myself' put both music fans and the industry on notice, and his 1999 releases of 'A Day in the Life,' featuring "Georgy Porgy," as well as his first number one R&B single 'Spend My Life with You,' featuring Tamia, hit home; and

WHEREAS, Eric Benét is heavily involved in two charitable organizations, first Mission Save Her (which he co-founded with actor/singer Reggie Benjamin), which fights against the human trafficking, slavery and sexual abuse of women and girls around the world, and In a Perfect World, established by Mr. Benét's wife Manuela Testolini, which pushes to break the cycle of poverty and illiteracy in economically poor countries like Haiti, Nicaragua and Senegal; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith thanks Eric Benét for his contributions to the music industry and the world and extends its sincere appreciation on behalf of the community; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Eric Benét.

Introduced by Common Council members Khalif J. Rainey, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on January 17, 2018.