BY ALDS. PEREZ, RAINEY, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Carla Elena Echeveste on her selection as the 2017 Hispanic Woman of the Year by United Migrant Opportunity Services.

WHEREAS,

CARLA ELENA ECHEVESTE

was selected as the 2017 Hispanic Woman of the Year by the United Migrant Opportunity Services, and she was honored during the annual UMOS Hispanic Awards Banquet on October 28, 2017 at the Potawatomi Hotel & Conference Center; and

WHEREAS, Carla Elena Echeveste earned a bachelor's degree from Alverno College in accounting with minors in mathematics and Spanish, language, and cultures, and she is now a third-year post-baccalaureate premedical studies student who has completed the prerequisites for entrance into business school and medical school; and

WHEREAS, Carla Elena Echeveste is involved in raising awareness for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics recruitment and retention for the advancement of minority interests into the field of medicine or business ventures; and

WHEREAS, Carla Elena Echeveste served as an ambassador for The Wisconsin Hispanic Scholarship Foundation, Inc. and Mexican Fiesta, which provides young women with the opportunity to become a community symbol, and become a role model for many others in the Hispanic community; and

WHEREAS, The UMOS Hispanic Awards honor the contributions of Wisconsin Hispanics to their communities, and in 2017, UMOS celebrates those who work to build better futures for the individuals, families, and communities it serves, and Carla Elena Echeveste is an outstanding example of someone who is making a positive impact on the lives of others; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Carla Elena Echeveste on being selected as the 2017 Hispanic Woman of the Year, commends her for her achievement and accomplishments, and wishes for her a happy, healthy, and successful future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Carla Elena Echeveste.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 7, 2017.