BY ALDS. HAMILTON, LEWIS, PEREZ, RAINEY, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, JOHNSON

Resolution honoring the memory of Roy Nelson, who passed from this life on October 22, 2017.

WHEREAS,

ROY NELSON

passed from this life at the age of 71 on October 22, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Roy Nelson was born on September 20, 1946 in Sardis, Mississippi to Essie Nelson, Sr., and Ada Mae Hibbler-Nelson, and was the 8th of 11 children, and he earned his high school diploma from North Panola Vocational High School in 1965, and he moved to Milwaukee in the early 1970s where he joined the Community Baptist Church; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his teenage years Roy Nelson learned skilled trades from his father Essie, Sr. and brother Essie Jr., and later took a full-time position at A.O. Smith, while working parttime for a local plumbing contractor, and after a few years he decided to pursue an independent career in plumbing, and earned his Master Plumber license in 1979; and

WHEREAS, Roy Nelson and his wife, Ruthie established Roy's Plumbing, Inc., which began as a home-based office, and evolved into a well-known Milwaukee business located at 1830 W. Hampton Ave.; and

WHEREAS, Roy Nelson won awards for leadership and was a founding member of the Milwaukee African-American Contractors Association, and he helped young people in the neighborhood learn skills; now, therefore, be it

WHEREAS, Roy Nelson leaves to cherish his memory his loving wife, Ruthie Nelson, son Rickey Nelson, daughter Paula Nelson Hooker, granddaughters Shilaine and Rikki Nelson, grandsons Frederick, III and Nelson Hooker, as well as brothers, sisters and a host of relatives, friends and comrades; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the friends and family of Roy Nelson and mourns his passing with deep sorrow, and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Roy Nelson.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Chantia Lewis, José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Russell W. Stamper, II, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 7, 2017.