BY ALDS. PEREZ, RAINEY, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Monica Lopez on receiving a 2017 Legacy Award from the Southside Organizing Committee.

WHEREAS,

MONICA LOPEZ

was honored as a recipient of the Southside Organizing Committee's Legacy Award at the Retro Ball on October 20, 2017 at The Point, 906 S. Barclay St.; and

WHEREAS, Monica Lopez is the President and Founder of Alianza Latina Aplicando Soluciones, Inc., which is an organization that started as a support group in 1997 with 10 mothers looking for support and resources for their children with special needs; and

WHEREAS, Under Monica Lopez's leadership, Alianza Latina Aplicando Soluciones has become a family resource center that has positively impacted more than 25,000 families in Wisconsin, and works to ensure that people with disabilities can continue to have access to services and resources that enable them to reach their highest potential and enjoy a fulfilling life; and

WHEREAS, Monica Lopez has worked in Milwaukee Public Schools for the past 14 years, she started in the Parent Center in Central Services as a Parent Information Specialist, and she currently works as a Family and Community Engagement Associate, and supports Parent Coordinators in the near southside of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, In 2015, Monica Lopez received the Spirit of the ADA Award from Disability Rights of Wisconsin and the Rutilio Grande, S.J. Community Service Award from Casa Romero Renewal Center in 2016; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Monica Lopez on receiving a Legacy Award from the Southside Organizing Committee and commends her for her dedicated service to the community; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Monica Lopez.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 7, 2017.