BY ALDS. RAINEY, PEREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Cream City Medical Society on the occasion of its 90th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

CREAM CITY MEDICAL SOCIETY

celebrated its 90th anniversary during a special dinner and program on October 28, 2017 at the Italian Community Center, 631 E. Chicago St.; and

WHEREAS, The Cream City Medical Society was established in 1927 under the leadership of Dr. Richard Herron, son of Milwaukee's first African American physician, Dr. Allen L. Herron; and

WHEREAS, Since its founding, the Cream City Medical Society has actively served the health care needs of African Americans in the Milwaukee community, endlessly advocated for the health care rights of the disenfranchised, and addressed the shortage of African American doctors; and

WHEREAS, The Cream City Medical Society is the first and only Milwaukee based 501c3 organization of African American physicians, and is the nation's oldest association that represents African American physicians and other health care professionals, and is a local society of the National Medical Association; and

WHEREAS, The Cream City Medical Society currently represents over 100 doctors of general and specialized medicine, including physicians, dentist, pharmacists, podiatrist, residents, and health care professional students, and supports medical and health care-related students through scholarship, like the Dr. Terrance Thomas Scholarship Fund, which is now one of the largest scholarship funds for minority health care professional students; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and congratulates the Cream City Medical Society on the occasion of its 90th anniversary, thanks the Society for its many years of service and outstanding contributions to the community and wishes it many more years of success and service; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Cream City Medical Society.

Introduced by Common Council members Khalif J. Rainey, José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 7, 2017.