BY ALDS. PEREZ, COGGS, HAMILTON, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution expressing condolences to the loved ones of Maria Eva Gonzalez, as she passed from this life on September 28, 2017.

WHEREAS,

MARIA EVA GONZALEZ

passed from this life at the age of 96 on September 28, 2017, and funeral services were held on October 3, 2017 at Forest Home Cemetery; and

WHEREAS, Maria Eva Gonzalez a community member and faith leader has given a lifetime of service to her community in the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, She was born on July 27th 1921, and she has dedicated her life in service of others through her faith, and deeply loved her congregation; and

WHEREAS, She would walk the south-side of Milwaukee with confidence in her neighbor and had a willingness to share her faith with them all, and she would sweep the streets to keep them clean from debris because she respected and valued her neighborhood; and

WHEREAS, In the humility of her life she was a sharing, giving, and generous person, and when someone was hungry or had a basic need she helped, and Gonzalez believed in self-respect, self-worth and used her voice to share that life lesson with others; and

WHEREAS, She lived a life of passion of sharing a faith-based life to a generation of children in the south-side of Milwaukee through her La Luz del Mundo Church Congregation, and these children have grown up to honor and respect their elders and give back to their community, and her legacy, example, and life, are well known though out Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico, the City of Chicago, and the State of Wisconsin; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the loved ones of Maria Eva Gonzalez, hereby honors Maria Eva Gonzalez for her kindness, passion, care of others in our community and by spreading her faith to others, and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family in Christ of Maria Eva Gonzalez.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 17, 2017.