BY ALDS. BOHL, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, COGGS, PEREZ, STAMPER, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Jesilyna Gonzales on her selection as the 2017 Hispanic Youth of the Year by United Migrant Opportunity Services.

WHEREAS,

JESILYNA GONZALES

was selected as the 2017 Hispanic Youth of the Year by the United Migrant Opportunity Services, and she was honored during the annual UMOS Hispanic Awards Banquet on October 28, 2017 at the Potawatomi Hotel & Conference Center; and

WHEREAS, Jesilyna Gonzales currently attends Carmen Schools of Science & Technology where she serves as a student ambassador, member of the Gay-Straight Alliance Committee, and is a Project Pioneer Carroll University pre-college student; and

WHEREAS, Jesilyna Gonzales volunteers as an assistant Catechist member at St. John Paul II, served as Student Council President at her previous school in 2016, and was awarded the outstanding Language Arts Student of the Year honor from Clement Avenue High School, where she was also on the high honor roll; and

WHEREAS, Jesilyna Gonzales has received a citation from 9th District Assembly State Representative Josh Zepnick, and is involved in the Milwaukee Ballet School & Academy; and

WHEREAS, The UMOS Hispanic Awards honor the contributions of Wisconsin Hispanics to their communities, and in 2017, UMOS celebrates those who work to build better futures for the individuals, families and communities it serves, and Jesilyna Gonzales is an outstanding example of someone who is making a positive impact on the lives of others; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Jesilyna Gonzales on being selected as the 2017 Hispanic Youth of the Year, commends her for her achievement and accomplishments, and wishes for her a happy, healthy and successful future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Jesilyna Gonzales.

Introduced by Common Council members Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Cavalier Johnson, Khalif J. Rainey and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 26, 2017.