BY ALDS. PEREZ, RAINEY, BOHL, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating the Roberto Hernandez Center (RHC), formerly known as the Spanish Speaking Outreach Institute (SSOI) at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

WHEREAS.

THE ROBERTO HERNANDEZ CENTER

celebrated its 47th Anniversary at Mexican Fiesta on August 27, 2017; and

WHEREAS, In 1970 at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee the Spanish Speaking Outreach Center opened, today known as The Roberto Hernandez Center (RHC); and

WHEREAS, This commemoration recognizes the contributions, sacrifices, and accomplishments of RHC students and community leaders including the retention, recruitment, and graduation of Latino students in Milwaukee and beyond, while furthering the relationship of the Latino community and the university and academic support for Latino students; and

WHEREAS, Individuals such as Roberto Hernandez and others who risked everything to gain equal educational opportunities for the Latino community in Milwaukee have contributed to Milwaukee history, the university, and making a brighter more fulfilled future for the Latino Community in Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee has a continued commitment to Latino students and serves as an example to all universities for providing fair and quality educational opportunities to everyone; and

WHEREAS, The future goals the Roberto Hernandez Center and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee have set to become a Hispanic Serving Institution will grow the number of Latino students who apply, get admitted, graduate, and become successful leaders in the community, which honors the legacy of Roberto Hernandez and past leaders; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates The Roberto Hernandez Center on its 47th anniversary at Mexican Fiesta and wishes for its continued success and prosperity; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Roberto Hernandez Center.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Jim Bohl, Ashanti Hamilton, Terry L. Witkowski, Milele A. Coggs, Mark A. Borkowski, Cavalier Johnson,

Chantia Lewis and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 6, 2017.