BY ALDS. RAINEY, HAMILTON, STAMPER, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution honoring the memory of Michael McCoy III, who passed from this life on August 23, 2016.

## WHEREAS,

## **MICHAEL McCOY III**

was honored by the Common Council at the July 31, 2017 meeting with the passage of the Michael *McCoy III Window Screen Ordinance; and* 

**WHEREAS,** Michael McCoy met an untimely and tragic death at the age of two years on August 23, 2016 at his grandmother's home near 40<sup>th</sup> and Wright when climbing out a window without a screen; and

**WHEREAS,** The Common Council recognized the death of Michael McCoy III as a significant and tragic loss, not just for the entire Michael McCoy III family, but the entire community; and

**WHEREAS,** The Common Council places utmost importance on health, safety, and welfare of all Milwaukee residents, especially its most vulnerable, and desires to raise public awareness of household safety hazards; and

WHEREAS, The Common Council passed Common Council File Number 160872 on December 13, 2016, to help prevent this type of tragedy from recurring by establishing in the Code of Ordinances that every openable window in any rental dwelling unit is to have a window screen; and

**WHEREAS,** It is right and fitting that Michael McCoy III be remembered as the inspiration for this ordinance; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** By the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee, that section 275-42-4-b of the Code of Ordinances shall hereafter be known as the "Michael McCoy III Window Screen Ordinance" in loving memory and honor of Michael McCoy III; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee and the whole City of Milwaukee herewith honors the memory of Michael McCoy III and expresses its heartfelt condolences to the family during their time of healing; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Michael McCoy III.

Introduced by Common Council members Khalif J. Rainey, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 6, 2017.