## BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution congratulating Reggie Howard on the honor bestowed to him by the Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club on the occasion of its 12<sup>th</sup> annual Negro Leagues Tribute event on August 12, 2017.

## WHEREAS.

## REGGIE HOWARD

was honored during the 12<sup>th</sup> annual Negro Leagues Tribute event on August 12, 2017 at Miller Park during the Brewers – Reds game, on a day devoted to honoring the great players of the Negro Leagues; and

**WHEREAS**, Reggie Howard was born in South Bend, Indiana, in 1934 and went on to achieve success and recognition as a member of the Indianapolis Clowns of the Negro Leagues; and

**WHEREAS,** After leaving baseball, Reggie Howard moved to Memphis where he was a real estate broker until retiring in 2008; and

WHEREAS, Reggie Howard has taken on a new career as an author and lecturer, traveling the country educating audiences on the Negro Leagues and its fraternity of unrecognized Black athletes; and

WHEREAS, The Brewers have honored dozens of Negro League players to date and the annual event includes an auction of game-worn Milwaukee Bears uniforms worn by Brewers players and coaches and the proceeds from the auction go to the Brewers Community Foundation to benefit the Yesterday's Negro League Baseball Players Foundation and the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum in Kansas City; and

WHEREAS, For his invaluable contributions to baseball, Reggie Howard will be inducted into Yesterday's Negro League Hall of Fame, located at Mother Kathryn Daniels Conference Center in Milwaukee; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Reggie Howard on the honor bestowed to him by the Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club on the occasion of its 12<sup>th</sup> annual Negro Leagues Tribute event, thanks him on behalf of the community for his many contributions to baseball and wishes him continued health and happiness; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Reggie Howard.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 6, 2017: Russell W. Stamper, II, Ashanti Hamilton, Nik Kovac, Robert J. Bauman, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, Robert G. Donovan, Michael J. Murphy, José G. Pérez, Terry L. Witkowski, Mark A. Borkowski, Tony Zielinski, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Chantia Lewis.