BY ALDS. COGGS, HAMILTON, BOHL, PÉREZ, BORWKOWSKI, STAMPER, LEWIS, JOHNSON, WITKOWSKI

Resolution recognizing and congratulating Alma Ruth Fleming on the occasion of her 70th birthday.

WHEREAS,

## **ALMA RUTH FLEMING**

celebrated her 70<sup>th</sup> birthday on August 26, 2017 with a special surprise celebration on August 27, 2017 at her home; and

WHEREAS, Alma Ruth Fleming, born in 1947, was raised by her loving parents, Nelson and Annie Frank Jarett, along with two brothers and three sisters in Brownsville, Tennessee, and after graduating from Carver High School in 1965 she married and moved to Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, After arriving in Milwaukee Alma held positions at National T Grocery Store, The Eagles Club, and Molded Rubber and Plastics, and after 20 plus years of employment with MRP she is set to retire at the end of 2017; and

WHEREAS, In addition to working outside the home Alma spent time being a fulltime homemaker and an amazing mother, with four wonderful children Michael (Tosha), Tina, Marie, Cassandra (Carlos), and Kimberly, and has seven exceptional grandchildren and two adorable great grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, Alma grew up attending Saint Peter Christian Methodist Episcopal Church with her parents and siblings in Brownsville, and after moving to Milwaukee she became a member of Saint Mark African Methodist Episcopal Church where she served as a Sunday School teacher for numerous years, and currently she is a member of World Outreach Church where she serves as a greeter, and in her spare time shares her many hobbies of sewing, crafting, cooking, and growing vegetables; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Alma Ruth Fleming on the occasion of her 70<sup>th</sup> birthday and extends to her its sincere wishes for her continued health and happiness; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Alma Ruth Fleming in recognition of her 70<sup>th</sup> birthday.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, José G. Pérez, Mark A. Borkowski, Cavalier Johnson and Russell W. Stamper, II, Chantia Lewis, Cavalier Johnson and Terry L. Witkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on August September 6, 2017.