BY ALDS. COGGS, HAMILTON, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Ezekil E. "Zeke" Averhart, who passed from this life on July 15, 2017.

WHEREAS,

EZEKIL E. "ZEKE" AVERHART

passed from this life at the age of 57 on July 15, 2017, and funeral services were held on July 22, 2017 at Krause Funeral Home, 9000 W. Capitol Dr.; and

WHEREAS, Ezekil E. "Zeke" Averhart was a loving and caring family man who enjoyed spending time with family and friends; and

WHEREAS, Ezekil E. "Zeke" Averhart, also known as Big Poppa, loved to BBQ at parties and family functions, using mesquite wood from Jessie and special BBQ Sauce from his sister Queenie; and

WHEREAS, Zeke was a trusted advisor to many elected officials over the years and volunteered his counsel to the Coggs/Young Political Legacy, and worked to right the wrongs of injustice by advising, molding and shaping many lives by his love of humanity, and he also was the Chair of Security/Lost & Found for the Dr. Martin Luther King Back to School Festival for more than 20 years and volunteered at local food pantries and also was a dedicated volunteer from time to time at Cross Lutheran Church; and

WHEREAS, Ezekil E. "Zeke" Averhart leaves to cherish his memory: siblings, Queenatta, Ruby, Erma, Lieutenant Jr., Johnnie, Alvin, Calvin, and Dawonn Averhart, as well as a host of nieces, nephews, cousins and other extended family and friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Ezekil E. "Zeke" Averhart, recognizes his lasting impact on his community and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine, upstanding man; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Ezekil E. "Zeke" Averhart.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 31, 2017.