BY ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, WADE, DAVIS, KOVAC, BAUMAN, MURPHY, BOHL, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, DUDZIK

Resolution recognizing the Milwaukee Community Journal on the occasion of its 38th anniversary celebration and the Dr. Terence N. Thomas Scholarship Brunch.

WHEREAS,

THE MILWAUKEE COMMUNITY JOURNAL

celebrated its 41st annual Dr. Terence N. Thomas Scholarship Brunch on August 6, 2017 at the Italian Conference Center, 631 E. Chicago St.; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Community Journal hosted honorees and students, and commemorated its anniversary by providing a platform for the Dr. Terence N. Thomas Scholarship, which has awarded almost \$800,000 in academic stipends to students who retain a 3.0 cumulative grade point average or better; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Community Journal, as the vanguard of civil rights for more than three decades, has grown into the largest circulated and most influential black-owned newspaper in Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, During its 41 years of publishing, the Milwaukee Community Journal has championed issues of relevance to its readership including education reform, business development and civil rights; and

WHEREAS, Following the 1967 riots in Milwaukee, insurance companies refused to pay businesses for damage incurred, so Patricia O'Flynn Pattillo (then Patricia Thomas) assumed the role of editor and publisher, and with the support of the Teutonia Avenue Businessmen's Association, wrote editorials that helped pressure the insurance companies into paying claims so businesses could make repairs and reopen; and

WHEREAS, The theme, "Millennial & Magic: Modeling and Modeling a New Milwaukee" honored Millennials and Gen X'ers to move Milwaukee forward; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the Milwaukee Community Journal on the occasion of its 41st anniversary, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes it continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Milwaukee Community Journal.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Joe Davis, Sr., Nik Kovac, Robert J. Bauman, Willie C. Wade, James A. Bohl, Terry Witkowski, Michael J. Murphy, José G. Pérez and Joe Dudzik and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 11, 2017.