BY ALDS. BAUMAN, MURPHY, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution recognizing Milwaukee Downtown Inc. for their Arts on Wisconsin Avenue initiative.

WHEREAS.

ARTS ON WISCONSIN AVENUE

was started to attract visitors to downtown Milwaukee through new urban art installations and to revitalize Wisconsin Ave. and celebrated its completion on July 11, 2017 at 411 E. Wisconsin Ave.; and

WHEREAS, Milwaukee Downtown Inc. pursued this initiative to meet goals laid out in the 2010 City of Milwaukee Downtown Comprehensive Plan, which include improving the streetscape to provide amenities and transforming Wisconsin Ave. into an "Avenue of the Arts" which acts as an extension of the Milwaukee Art Museum; and

WHEREAS, Milwaukee Downtown Inc. has involved the community in the installation including the Milwaukee Downtown Placemaking Task Force, which is composed of local artists, Wisconsin Ave. property owners, and representatives from the Department of Public Works, Milwaukee Arts Board, Continuum Architects, KEI Landscaping, Retaillworks Inc., WE Energies, Westown Association, East Town Association and NEWaukee; and

WHEREAS, The installation included 10 murals on utility boxes and ideas for the murals were provided from local artists who responded to Milwaukee Downtown's request for creativity; and

WHEREAS, Arts on Wisconsin Avenue, alongside Art in the Alley and Sculpture Milwaukee, has provided a great service to Milwaukee through both revitalizing Wisconsin Ave. and involving the community substantially throughout the process; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes the Arts on Wisconsin Avenue initiative for its contribution to Wisconsin Ave. and Milwaukee's downtown, thanks Milwaukee Downtown Inc. for its continued dedication to the enhancement of the city and extends its appreciation on behalf of the community; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Milwaukee Downtown Inc.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert J. Bauman, Michael J. Murphy, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 11, 2017.