BY ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS. RAINEY. JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating New Hope Missionary Baptist Church on its 70th church anniversary.

WHEREAS.

NEW HOPE MISSIONARY BAPTIST CHURCH

celebrated its 70th anniversary on August 26, 2017 with the Rev. Dr. Archie L. Ivy presiding; and

WHEREAS, New Hope Missionary Baptist Church was founded on August 26, 1947, and its first leader, the Rev. Raymond L. Lathan, expressed the philosophy that a church acts as a source of hope and leadership to the greater community; and

WHEREAS, New Hope Missionary Baptist Church was first located at 1117 W. Lloyd St., but constant growth made it necessary to move the church three times: in the 1950s the church moved to 538 W. Galena St., where the "Wings Over Wisconsin" live radio broadcast was initiated and led by Rev. Lathan (the show was one of the first spiritual broadcasts in the city); in the 1960s the church was moved to 925 W. Burleigh St., and again in 1973 to 2464 W. Atkinson Ave., where Rev. Lathan continued to lead the congregation until his retirement in 1994; and

WHEREAS, In 1995, New Hope's current leader, the Rev. Dr. Archie L. Ivy took the pulpit and continued the tradition of social activism, working with congregation members to found (2003) a non-profit community development corporation, Triangle of Hope, with a mission of providing services to meet the housing, educational, recreational, spiritual and physical needs of youth, individuals, and families in the community; and

WHEREAS, In 2004, New Hope Missionary Baptist Church expanded to its current location at 2433 W. Roosevelt Dr., and continues to be one of the great powers in the Christian faith in the City of Milwaukee; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates New Hope Missionary Baptist Church on its 70th anniversary, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes it continued success and a prosperous future; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to New Hope Missionary Baptist Church.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 20, 2017.