BY ALDS. COGGS, HAMILTON, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating the distinguished service of Herbert Washington on the occasion of his Stars and Stripes Honor Flight.

WHEREAS,

HERBERT WASHINGTON

flew with other U.S. military veterans to Washington, D.C. on May 21, 2017, on a Stars and Stripes Honor Flight; and

- WHEREAS, Herbert Washington was born May 1, 1931 and raised in Iuka, Mississippi; and
- WHEREAS, Herbert Washington went into the service after high school, and proudly served as a Corporal in the U.S. Army stationed in Korea, where he served in the Infantry; and
- WHEREAS, The Infantry was a vital part of combat, and Herbet Washington's squad relieved the unit which took Jane Russell Hill and he served as a Radio Operator on Pork Chop Hill; and
- WHEREAS, Herbert Washington returned to Milwaukee after the war and married Mary Etta and to this union five sons and three daughters were born (his late wife Mary Etta passed away in 2013), and he is a loving and devoted father, grandfather and great grandfather to his immediate and extended family; and
- WHEREAS, After the war Herbert held various positions as a machine operator at Chainbelt, Rex Chainbelt, Rexnord and Rex Works and when he retired he was a tape control operator (he also worked at The Rose Company); and
- WHEREAS, The mission of the Stars and Stripes Honor Flight initiative is to fly WWII veterans and terminally ill veterans from other wars to see their memorials in Washington, D.C., in person; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes the distinguished service of Herbert Washington, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him continued health and happiness; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Herbert Washington.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkwoski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 31, 2017.