BY ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution recognizing Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. for the 20th anniversary of its Upsilon Mu Omega chapter.

WHEREAS,

ALPHA KAPPA ALPHA SORORITY, INC.

celebrated the 20th anniversary of its Upsilon Mu Omega chapter in a special ceremony on May 7, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was established January 15, 1908 at Howard University, making it the oldest college-based sorority founded by African American women; and

WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority chartered the Upsilon Mu Omega Chapter in Milwaukee on March 29, 1997; and

WHEREAS, Upsilon Mu Omega Chapter has partnered with local organizations to promote the wellbeing of local and global communities through activities such as collecting coats and food for local families in need, participating in breast cancer awareness projects, sponsoring blood and marrow donation drives in the African-American community, holding financial workshops for local youth and adults and many more; and

WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority is dedicated to high scholastic and ethical standards, the development of unity and friendship, the alleviation of problems affecting women and the promotion of higher education and service to all mankind; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the Upsilon Mu Omega Chapter of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. on the occasion of its 20th anniversary, thanks the chapter for its valuable contributions to the greater Milwaukee community and extends wishes for its continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Upsilon Mu Omega Chapter of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Khalif J. Rainey, Russell W. Stamper, II, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 9, 2017.