BY ALDS. RAINEY, BOHL, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Auer Avenue Community School on its 105th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

AUER AVENUE COMMUNITY SCHOOL

celebrated more than 105 years of educating community members during a special ceremony on May 6, 2017 at the school, 2319 W. Auer Ave.; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1903 as Twentieth District School No. 4, the school became Auer Avenue School in 1912; and

WHEREAS, Auer Avenue Community School is a K-5 elementary school located in the Amani neighborhood with 287 students and 55 dedicated staff members; and

WHEREAS, Auer Avenue Community School adopted the community partnership method of school reform in January 2015, joining the Milwaukee School Community Partnership (MCSP) of seven MPS schools and the United Way of Greater Milwaukee and Waukesha County; and

WHEREAS, Auer Avenue Community School and the MCSP are building an environment where students, families, staff and the surrounding community can work together to promote each student's success, with emphasis on shared leadership, equity and cultural relevance; and

WHEREAS, Auer Avenue Community School's mission is to prepare students to be college-ready and become productive citizens and to shape tomorrow's thinkers and leaders; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Auer Avenue Community School on its 105th anniversary and wishes for it continued success in the future.

Introduced by Common Council members Khalif J. Rainey, Jim Bohl, Ashanti Hamilton, Terry L. Witkowski, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Mark A. Borkowski, Cavalier Johnson, Chantia Lewis and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 9, 2017.