BY ALDS. WITKOWSKI, BOHL, BORKOWSKI, COGGS, HAMILTON, PEREZ, STAMPER, RAINEY, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Tara Cavazos on her appointment as executive director of the Historic Route 41 Business Improvement District.

WHEREAS,

## **TARA CAVAZOS**

has served for nearly eight years as president of the Historic Route 41 Business Improvement District and is now taking on the full-time role of executive director; and

**WHEREAS**, Tara Cavazos has served the Historic 41 BID since becoming vice-chair of the initial volunteer steering committee in 2006 and began her role as president in 2009; and

**WHEREAS**, Tara Cavazos has upheld the Historic 41 BID's mission of fostering the economic growth and cultural vitality of Milwaukee and Greenfield's South 27<sup>th</sup> St. Business District; and

WHEREAS, Throughout her term as president of the Historic 41 BID, Tara Cavazos kept the organization on track, provided guidance to the board and committees and represented the BID at news events; and

**WHEREAS**, Tara Cavazos has worked to make her vision for the Historic 41 BID a reality by learning the bureaucratic rules and politics of both Milwaukee and Greenfield and by forming partnerships with elected officials and local businesses; and

WHEREAS, Tara Cavazos has dedicated her career to the economic advancement of the Historic 41 BID and the south side of the Milwaukee metropolitan area and will increase her leadership at the BID; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Tara Cavazos on her distinguished term as president of the Historic 41 BID and on her new role as executive director, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community and wishes her continued success and happiness; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented Tara Cavazos, an outstanding leader.

Introduced by Common Council members Terry L. Witkowski, Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski, Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 28, 2017.