BY ALDS. DONOVAN, MURPHY, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Sharon and Rosemary Walsh on being as selected Milwaukee's 2017 Irish Parade marshals.

WHEREAS,

SHARON AND ROSEMARY WALSH

have served the Irish community of Wisconsin as volunteers for many years, and their devotion and dedication were celebrated at the Thunder Bay Grille in Pewaukee, N14 W24130 Tower Pl., on February 2, 2017, with their selection as parade marshals; and

WHEREAS, Sharon and Rosemary Walsh are well known to people in the community for their deep commitment to Irish history, heritage and traditions through their many years of contributions and participation as members and volunteers of the Shamrock Club; and

WHEREAS, Sharon and Rosemary Walsh have been dedicated Shamrock Club members since joining in the early 1980s, have volunteered at many Irish organizations and cultural events in Milwaukee, and have also served in leadership roles at Celtic Women International and as founding members of the Irish Genealogical Society of Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, Sharon Walsh, a graduate of St. Mary's School of Nursing, worked as a public health nurse, and Rosemary Walsh, a graduate of Viterbo University, worked as an English teacher, both serving the citizens of Milwaukee until retirement; and

WHEREAS, During their years with the Shamrock Club, Sharon and Rosemary Walsh have been dedicated to serving the club and promoting Irish culture and tradition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Sharon and Rosemary Walsh on being selected as Parade Marshals, recognizes their many contributions to the Irish community in Milwaukee, and wishes for them health and happiness in the future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Sharon and Rosemary Walsh in recognition of this honor.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert G. Donovan, Michael J. Murphy, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 1, 2017.