BY ALDS. MURPHY, COGGS, RAINEY, HAMILTON, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Mary Louise Mussoline, who passed from this life on February 4, 2017.

WHEREAS,

MARY LOUISE MUSSOLINE

passed from this life on February 4, 2017, and services were held on February 12, 2017 at the Italian Community Center, 631 E. Chicago Ave.; and

WHEREAS, Mary Louise Mussoline served as the executive director of 88Nine Radio Milwaukee from 2009 to 2016 and led the radio station in its mission to break down barriers and create a more inclusive and engaged community; and

WHEREAS, Under Mary Louise Mussoline's leadership, 88Nine Radio Milwaukee became a well-known cultural force in Milwaukee, increased its listenership and contributing members and provided a platform for local musicians, organizations and causes; and

WHEREAS, Mary Louise Mussoline established the Cultural Commons Initiative to bring together diverse audiences with music, stories and events and grow Milwaukee's cultural engagement; and

WHEREAS, Mary Louise Mussoline contributed her remarkable fundraising skills to causes and organizations such as the YWCA Building on MLK Drive, the Wisconsin AIDS Fund, Circle of Women and the Milwaukee Art Museum and previously served as an executive or a consultant for numerous nonprofit organizations; and

WHEREAS, Mary Lousie Mussoline dedicated her career to strengthening the Milwaukee community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Mary Louise Mussoline, recognizes her lasting impact on the community and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine, upstanding woman; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Mary Louise Mussoline.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Milele A. Coggs, Khalif J. Rainey, Ashanti Hamilton, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 1, 2017.