BY ALDS. DONOVAN, MURPHY, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Mary Moze as Milwaukee's Irish Rose of 2017.

## WHEREAS,

## **MARY MOZE**

has made significant contributions to the Irish community in Milwaukee and has unselfishly devoted her time to the Shamrock Club, and for her dedicated service she was recognized as Irish Rose 2017 at the Thunder Bay Grille in Pewaukee, N14 W24130 Tower Pl., on February 2, 2017; and

**WHEREAS,** Mary Moze is well-known to people in the community for her deep commitment to Irish history, heritage and traditions through her many years of contributions and participation as a member and volunteer of the Shamrock Club; and

WHEREAS, A native-born Wisconsinite, Mary Moze has proudly honored her Irish heritage by supporting the Shamrock Club in a number of roles, including treasurer and trustee; and

**WHEREAS,** Mary Moze is active in the community and has volunteered at Irish Fest every year since its inception and received volunteer awards from Girl Scouts of Southeast Wisconsin, the Literacy Coalition of Southeast Wisconsin and Mount Mary University, her alma mater; and

WHEREAS, Mary Moze has has three daughters and six grandchildren, several of whom continue to celebrate Irish heritage and tradition by volunteering at the Shamrock Club and Irish Fest; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Mary Moze on being selected as the Shamrock Club Irish Rose of 2017, recognizes her many contributions to the Irish community in Milwaukee, and wishes for her continued health and happiness; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Pam Canon in recognition of this honor.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert G. Donovan, Michael J. Murphy, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 1, 2017.