BY ALDS. HAMILTON, PEREZ, BOHL, WITKOWSKI, BORKOWSKI, COGGS, STAMPER, RAINEY, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Ralph E. Hollmon on his retirement from the Milwaukee Urban League.

## WHEREAS,

## **RALPH E. HOLLMON**

retired with pride and satisfaction as the president and chief executive officer of the Milwaukee Urban League after 14 years of dedicated service to the citizens of Milwaukee, and a special City Hall ceremony held March 1, 2017 by the Common Council honored his distinguished career; and

**WHEREAS**, Ralph E. Hollmon advanced the Milwaukee Urban League's mission of providing services so that African-American students and adults may achieve their full potential, contribute to the community and attain economic self-sufficiency, career success and enjoy their civil rights; and

**WHEREAS**, Ralph Hollmon significantly improved the financial outlook and stewardship of the Milwaukee Urban League during his term and successfully directed fundraising efforts for a new headquarters at 435 W. North Ave. in Bronzeville, Milwaukee's African-American Cultural and Entertainment District; and

**WHEREAS**, Ralph Hollmon received the 2014 FBI Director's Community Leadership Award for his efforts to improve the lives of local minority groups and his partnership with law enforcement to improve police-community relations; and

**WHEREAS**, Ralph Hollmon's work helped thousands of students enter college and attain financial aid, and he assisted hundreds of adults in finding employment or starting or running their own businesses, in turn strengthening the community; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Ralph E. Hollmon on his retirement and his distinguished term as president and chief executive officer of the Milwaukee Urban League, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community and wishes for him a healthy and happy retirement; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Ralph E. Hollmon.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Jim Bohl, Terry L. Witkowski, Mark A. Borkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 1, 2017.