BY ALDS. DONOVAN, MURPHY, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Jerry Hill as Milwaukee's Irishman of the year 2017.

WHEREAS,

JERRY HILL

has made significant contributions to the Irish community in Milwaukee and has unselfishly devoted his time to the Shamrock Club, and for his dedicated service he was recognized as Irishman 2017 at the Thunder Bay Grille in Pewaukee, N14 W24130 Tower Pl., on February 2, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Jerry Hill is well known to people in the community for his deep commitment to the Irish history, heritage and traditions through his many years of contributions and participation as a member and volunteer of the Shamrock Club; and

WHEREAS, Born in Juneau County, Wisconsin, Jerry Hill enlisted with the U.S. Merchant Marines after graduating from high school in 1945, where he served for two years, then attended MATC and worked as a sales manager in the wholesale plumbing business; and

WHEREAS, Jerry Hill and his wife Gladys had four children, seven grandchildren and three great-grandchildren and loved to travel together; and

WHEREAS, Jerry Hill is active in the community and has helped to restore the pipe organ at St. Patrick's Church, received the honor of a Fourth Degree Knight with the Knights of Columbus and played an active role in many historical and hereditary societies; and

WHEREAS, Jerry Hill is a dedicated volunteer at Irish Fest, the Shamrock Club and the International Holiday Folk Fair; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Jerry Hill on being selected as the Irishman of the year 2017, recognizes his many contributions to the Irish community in Milwaukee, and wishes for him continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Jerry Hill in recognition of this honor.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert G. Donovan, Michael J. Murphy, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 1, 2017.