BY ALDS. BOHL, WITKOWSKI, BORKOWSKI, COGGS, HAMILTON, PEREZ, STAMPER, RAINEY, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Dr. Eileen Schwalbach on her term as president of Mount Mary University.

WHEREAS,

DR. EILEEN SCHWALBACH

stepped down from her post as the 11th president of Mount Mary University following the 2016-17 academic year after more than eight years of dedicated service to Mount Mary University and the Milwaukee community; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Eileen Schwalbach successfully guided Mount Mary University with distinction through major milestones, including its transition from college to university status and the addition of innovative new academic programs; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Eileen Schwalbach led Mount Mary University through strategic planning, leading to the Creative Campus Initiative to instill creative leadership skills in the student body; and

WHEREAS, Mount Mary University significantly improved its U.S. News and World Report *ranking and increased applications for freshman enrollment during Dr. Eileen Schwalbach's term; and*

WHEREAS, Dr. Eileen Schwalbach's commitment to the success and wellbeing of all Mount Mary University students, staff and faculty, along with her groundbreaking vision, has helped Mount Mary University graduates become community-oriented leaders and problem solver to the benefit of the Milwaukee community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Dr. Eileen Schwalbach on her distinguished term as president of Mount Mary University, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes her continued success and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented Dr. Eileen Schwalbach, an outstanding leader.

Introduced by Common Council members Jim Bohl, Terry L. Witkowski, Mark A. Borkowski, Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 7, 2017.