BY ALDS. HAMILTON, WITKOWSKI, BORKOWSKI, BOHL, COGGS, PEREZ, STAMPER, RAINEY, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Margaret Bowitz on her retirement from the Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council.

WHEREAS.

MARGARET BOWITZ

retired with pride and satisfaction as senior administrator of case management services with the Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council on January 26, 2017 after 33 years of dedicated service to the citizens of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Margaret Bowitz devoted her career to upholding the Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council's mission to combat illegal housing discrimination and promote racially and economically integrated communities; and

WHEREAS, Margaret Bowitz addressed housing discrimination complaints from more than 5,000 people and provided comprehensive fair housing training to more than 11,000 people, earning the 2016 Wisconsin Fair Housing Award for outstanding service to housing; and

WHEREAS, Margaret Bowitz provided attentive help to all clients in fighting housing discrimination, kept them informed of their rights at all times, demonstrated persistence through lengthy legal proceedings and used her extensive legal knowledge to empower community members; and

WHEREAS, The Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council has designated January 26, 2017 Margaret Bowitz Day to celebrate Margaret Bowitz's career and contributions, and she will always be recognized for working tirelessly to build fair and inclusive communities; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Margaret Bowitz on her retirement from the Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for her a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Margaret Bowitz, an outstanding community member.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Terry L. Witkowski, Mark A. Borkowski, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 7, 2017.