BY ALDS. HAMILTON, MURPHY, BORKOWSKI, BOHL, COGGS, PEREZ, WITKOWSKI, STAMPER, JOHNSON, RAINEY, LEWIS

Resolution congratulating Bud Selig on being inducted into the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame.

WHEREAS,

BUD SELIG

was elected for induction into the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame on December 4, 2016 by the newly created Today's Game Era Committee; and

WHEREAS, Bud Selig, an avid baseball fan who became the founding owner of the Milwaukee Brewers and the ninth commissioner of the MLB, will be officially inducted in Cooperstown, NY on July 30, 2017 and will be the fifth former commissioner and first living one since 1982 to be elected to the Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, Bud Selig is esteemed for leading the charge to buy the Brewers out of bankruptcy in Seattle and permanently bringing the team to Milwaukee in 1970, solidifying the team's residency by spearheading the campaign to build Miller Park, which opened in 2001; and

WHEREAS, Bud Selig's Hall of Fame candidacy is centered on his 28-year role as the game's ninth commissioner, when he effectively dealt with issues like the bitter labor war and the so-called "Steroid Era," and also took the lead in many social issues, the building of 22 new ballparks, vast economic growth and expanded playoffs including wild-card berths; and

WHEREAS, Upon retirement in 2015, Bud Selig became the game's first commissioner emeritus with an announced five-year contract, and has since taken on aggressive teaching roles at the University of Wisconson-Madison and Marquette University Law School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Bud Selig on his induction into the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame and extends wishes for continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Bud Selig, in recognition of this distinguished honor.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Michael J. Murphy, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Cavalier Johnson, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on December 13, 2016.