BY ALDS. ZIELINSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, COGGS, BOHL, RAINEY, JOHNSON, BORKOWSKI, PÉREZ, STAMPER

Resolution celebrating the new "Historic Awakenings" mural in Bay View.

WHEREAS,

HISTORIC AWAKENINGS MURAL

was officially dedicated by the Bay View Historical Society as the first historic landmark mural in Bay View on December 2, 2016; and

WHEREAS, The Bay View Historical Society has coordinated with the S. Kinnickinnic Ave. Business Improvement District No. 44 to present 23 landmarks of Bay View (to date) in a historic mural located at 2510 S. Kinnickinnic Ave. that will enhance the mission, history and education of the area; and

WHEREAS, The Bay View Historical Society, with more than 600 members, has the distinction of being Wisconsin's largest neighborhood historical society, and was awarded the prestigious Reuben Gold Thwaites Trophy by the Wisconsin Council of Local History for the excellence of its historic educational and programming achievements twice, and has also received awards from the City of Milwaukee, the Milwaukee County of Supervisors, the Wisconsin Senate and Historic Milwaukee, Inc. for its dedication to preserving and sharing the history of Bay View; and

WHEREAS, The Bay View Historical Society contributes to the Bay View community by landmarking historic locations; hosting historic walking tours; providing educational lectures, programs and book talks; maintaining extensive archives; offering free tours of the Beulah Brinton House; and participating in outreach events throughout Bay View and the surrounding community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith celebrates the new "Historic Awakenings" mural in Bay View, as it is a new and inspiring display of public art that enriches the neighborhood and the city as a whole; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Bay View Historical Society.

Introduced by Common Council members Tony Zielinski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Cavalier Johnson, Khalif J. Rainey, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski and José G. Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on December 13, 2016.