BY ALDS. MURPHY, COGGS, BOHL, PEREZ, BORKOWSKI, STAMPER

*Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Robert Walter "Bob" Buhler.* 

## WHEREAS,

## **ROBERT WALTER "BOB" BUHLER**

passed from this life on October 6, 2016 at the age of 93, and funeral services were held on October 15, 2016 at First Presbyterian Church, 716 College Ave., Racine; and

WHEREAS, Robert Walter "Bob" Buhler was born in Racine to Walter and Irene Buhler and graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, but continued to learn throughout his life, attending weekly classes at the University of Arizona until his passing; and

WHEREAS, Bob Buhler was the President of Marigold Dairy and an innovative pioneer and entrepreneur, inventing the cream-top milk bottle and starting one of the earliest convenient food store chains in the country, Open Pantry Food Marts of Wisconsin, Inc., which became the largest convenient food store company in the state and where he served as the Chairman Emeritus until his passing; and

WHEREAS, Bob Buhler was committed to philanthropy and community involvement, and was a member of many organizations, including the First Presbyterian Church, The Lutheran Church of the Resurrection, the Kiwanis Club of Greater Racine, the Racine Rotary Club, Racine YMCA, Racine County Safety Council and the Chamber of Congress Economics Club of Tuscon; and

**WHEREAS,** Bob Buhler leaves to cherish his memory his beloved children, Elizabeth "Betsy," Rebecca and Robert, and his cherished grandchildren, Benjamin, Lauren, Eunice and Konstantine, as well as a host of other relatives and friends; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Robert Walter "Bob" Buhler and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine man; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Robert Walter "Bob" Buhler.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, José G. Pérez, Mark A. Borkowski and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 22, 2016.