Resolution congratulating May yer Thao on her selection as the 2016 Nonprofit Sector Champion of the Year by the Latino Entrepreneurial Network of Southeastern Wisconsin, Inc.

WHEREAS,

MAY YER THAO

was selected as 2016 Nonprofit Sector Champion of the Year by the Latino Entrepreneurial Network of Southeastern Wisconsin, Inc., and was honored during LEN's Entrepreneurial Celebration Exito Awards on November 12, 2016 at the Oak Creek Community Center, 8580 S. Howell Ave.; and

WHEREAS, May yer Thao is the Executive Director for the Hmong Wisconsin Chamber of Commerce, a statewide community development financial institution whose mission is to provide financial resources and technical assistance to business and community development activities that improve low-income communities, with a special focus on Hmong and Southeast Asian communities; and

WHEREAS, During her two years with HWCC, May yer Thao deployed the most business loans in HWCC history, provided support and visibility to key, Hmong-owned cornerstone projects in Wisconsin and has grown the organization's membership, partners and initiatives; and

WHEREAS, May yer Thao was named the USSBA Wisconsin Minority Business Champion in 2016, and she has been instrumental in strengthening HWCC's partnership with the Latino Entrepreneurial Network; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 2005, LEN has grown to 300 members and has served 600 people in the Milwaukee area, and May yer Thao's contributions to the organization and the community have benefitted both; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates May yer Thao on being selected as the 2016 Nonprofit Sector Champion of the Year, commends her for her achievements and accomplishments and wishes for her continued success in all her endeavors; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to May yer Thao.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, José G. Pérez, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 22, 2016.