Resolution recognizing and congratulating Rep. Ken Skowronski on receiving the 2016 Person of the Year Award from the South Side Business Club of Milwaukee, Inc.

## WHEREAS,

## REP. KEN SKOWRONSKI

received the 2016 Person of the Year Award from the South Side Business Club of Milwaukee, Inc. during its Fall Party and Awards Banquet at Polonez Restaurant on September 26, 2016; and

WHEREAS, Elected in 2013 to represent the 82<sup>nd</sup> District in the Wisconsin State Assembly, Rep. Ken Skowronski has served for many years as an elected public servant, representing his community as a City of Franklin Alderman from 2005 to 2014 and holding numerous leadership positions, including chair of the city's Economic Development Commission, and receiving the city's Distinguished Service Award for outstanding community work in 1983; and

WHEREAS, Beginning his education at St. Gerard's Catholic Grade School, Rep. Ken Skowronski went on to attend Milwaukee Area Technical College to earn his Journeyman Carpenter's certificate, and in 1960 he went into the remodeling business, launching KS Remodelers, Inc., and joined the National Association of the Remodeling Industry Milwaukee Chapter, where he served in numerous leadership roles throughout the years; and

WHEREAS, Well-known for being active in contributing to his community, Rep. Ken Skowronski serves as President of the Polish Heritage Alliance, a board member of the Xaverian Missionaries, past president of the Franklin Noon Lions Club, a life member of Ducks Unlimited, a past deputy grand knight of the Knights of Columbus and a proud member of the South Side Business Club; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and congratulates Rep. Ken Skowronski on receiving the 2016 Person of the Year Award from South Side Business Club, Inc. and wishes for him continued health and success in his future endeavors; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Rep. Ken Skowronski.

Introduced by Common Council members Terry L. Witkowski, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Jim Bohl and Milele A. Coggs, and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 11, 2016.