Resolution congratulating Dr. Enrique Figueroa on receiving the 2016 Hispanic Heritage Month Award from the Roberto Hernández Center at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

WHEREAS.

DR. ENRIQUE FIGUEROA

was honored as the 2016 Hispanic Heritage Month Award winner presented by the Roberto Hernández Center at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee on October 7, 2016; and

- WHEREAS, The Roberto Hernández Center presents the Hispanic Heritage Month Award as an annual tradition of honoring individuals who exemplify achievement in Milwaukee's Latino community; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Enrique Figueroa earned his bachelor's degree in Agricultural Education from California State University (1973) and two master's degrees from UC-Davis (1975 and 1982), and he served as Deputy Under Secretary for the Department of Agriculture for two years; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Enrique Figueroa served as the Director of the Roberto Hernandez Center for over 14 years, where his responsibilities included overall management and planning of the student center, including personnel, budget administration, and program development and implementation; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Enrique Figueroa largely grew the Roberto Hernández Center's Latino Scholarship Endowed Fund through the Annual Promoting Academics in Latino Milwaukee Scholarship Fundraisers during his time as Director; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Enrique Figueroa has also been honored with a number of recognitions and honors from the organizations including the Congressional Hispanic Caucus, California State University and the Green Bay Packers; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Dr. Enrique Figueroa for being honored as the 2016 Hispanic Heritage Month Award winner by the Roberto Hernández Center, commends him for his outstanding service in the community, and wishes for him success in all of his future endeavors; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Dr. Enrique Figueroa.

Introduced by Common Council members José Pérez, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs and Mark A. Borkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 11, 2016.