Resolution congratulating St. John Paul II Catholic Parish Saturday School for receiving the 2016 Congressman Clement Zablocki Civic Achievement Award presented by the Wisconsin State Division of the Polish American Congress.

WHEREAS.

## ST. JOHN PAUL II CATHOLIC POLISH SATURDAY SCHOOL

was awarded the 2016 Congressman Clement Zablocki Civic Achievement Award by the Wisconsin State Division of the Polish American Congress on November 6, 2016 at the 20<sup>th</sup> annual Polish Independence Day/Veterans Day luncheon at the Polish Center of Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, St. John Paul II Catholic Polish Saturday School program, established at St. Maximilian Kolbe parish in Milwaukee, offers its students excellent classes in the Polish language, Polish culture and traditions, the geography of Poland and religious education – all in the spirit of providing youngsters with a deeper appreciation of their heritage; and

WHEREAS, St. Maximilian Kolbe parish was established for the benefit of Polish newcomers to Milwaukee by Archbishop Timothy Dolan and is located together with the historic and continuing parish of Saints Cyril and Methodius on the south side; and

**WHEREAS**, the Polish Saturday School continues a longstanding tradition in Milwaukee of offering a Saturday school program in Polish language and cultural studies for children, the most notable of which was the program directed by the Casimir Pulaski Council of Milwaukee County; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the St. John Paul II Catholic Polish Saturday School program on being honored with the Congressman Clement Zablocki Civic Achievement Award from the Wisconsin PAC, recognizes it for its dedication to the Polish heritage and wishes for it continued success; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the St. John Paul II Catholic Polish School Saturday School.

Introduced by Common Council members Terry L. Witkowski, Tony Zielinski, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez and Mark A. Borkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 11, 2016.