BY ALDS. ZIELINSKI, BOHL, COGGS, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ

Resolution congratulating the proprietors of The Historic White House Tavern on the 125th *anniversary of the tavern's founding.*

WHEREAS,

THE HISTORIC WHITE HOUSE TAVERN

was founded in 1891 and during 2016 celebrated its 125th year at the same location (on what is now S. Kinnickinnic Ave.) in Bay View; and

WHEREAS, The proprietors of the tavern know that the White House's long history and success is owed to the loyal customers of Bay View and Milwaukee, and that is why they are committed to giving back to the neighborhood and community, especially to those in need, through local charities, and why they are proud to host food drives for the Hunger Task Force; and

WHEREAS, Since 1891, the Historic White House Tavern, 2900 S. Kinnickinnic Ave., has been a Bay View and Milwaukee institution, and during its rich history has served not only as a tavern, but also as a rooming house, voting and political center, trading post, a gathering place for talented local softball teams and, of course, a beer hall; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, the proprietors of The Historic White House Tavern have taken considerable care to ensure the original wood and décor remain intact, including the original oiled finish of its 125-year-old bar; and

WHEREAS, The Historic White House Tavern is heralded for helping patrons create lasting memories to pass along to future generations, and its owners are looking forward to the next 125 years of good times and great memories; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates The Historic White House Tavern on its 125th anniversary celebration and wishes for it continued success in the future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to The Historic White House Tavern, in recognition of this occasion.

Introduced by Common Council members Tony Zielinski, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, Mark A. Borkowski and José G. Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 20, 2016.