Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Bruce C. O'Neill.

WHEREAS,

BRUCE C. O'NEILL

passed from this life on September 3, 2016 at the age of 74, and funeral services were held on September 10, 2016 at St. Sebastian Catholic Church, 5400 W. Washington Blvd.; and

WHEREAS, Bruce O'Neill graduated from Marquette University High School, the University of Notre Dame (1964) and Marquette University Law School (1967) before he clerked for Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice George Currie, briefly served as an Assistant District Attorney for Milwaukee County, and eventually became a shareholder at Fox, O'Neill & Shannon, S.C., where he worked for more than four decades; and

WHEREAS, Bruce O'Neill was a renowned attorney in the City of Milwaukee, where he was recognized for decades as a Super Lawyer, and in 2014, was honored by the Wisconsin Law Journal as a Leader in the Law, and he always cared deeply about his clients, working with the utmost integrity; and

WHEREAS, Bruce O'Neill was a leader in the city, serving as a founding member of the Milwaukee Braves Historical Association as well as Washington Heights Neighborhood Association, where he lived for 44 years, and he also volunteered as counsel to the St. Vincent DePaul Society and on many boards, including the Adoption Resources of Wisconsin, Catholic School Services, Harambee House, Historic Milwaukee and the Marquette University Law School Advisory Board; and

WHEREAS, Bruce O'Neill is survived by his wife of 32 years, Priscilla ("Peppy"), children Mike, Matt, Jennifer, Sveda, Andy, Hugh, Miles and Kate, 18 grandchildren, and sisters Maureen and Sheila, as well as many loving cousins, nieces, nephews and friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Bruce O'Neill and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine leader and man; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Bruce O'Neill.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 20, 2016: Michael J. Murphy, Robert J. Bauman, Ashanti Hamilton, Tony Zielinski, Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski, Milele A. Coggs, Robert G. Donovan, Cavalier Johnson, Nik Kovac, Chantia Lewis, José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Terry L. Witkowski, and Russell W. Stamper II.