BY ALDS. HAMILTON, STAMPER, BOHL, COGGS, PEREZ, BORKOWSKI

Resolution congratulating the Milwaukee YMCA's Black Achievers program for providing 35 years of support and assistance to Milwaukee youths as they plan for their futures.

WHEREAS,

MILWAUKEE YMCA BLACK ACHIEVERS

celebrated 35 years of providing service, support and assistance to Milwaukee's high school students of color during a celebration breakfast held at the Italian Conference Center on August 24, 2016; and

WHEREAS, The Black Achievers program has, for 35 years, assisted thousands of teens as they set and pursue educational and career goals, raise their academic standards, develop a positive sense of self, and connect with professionals who have offered guidance and encouragement; and

WHEREAS, Black Achievers participants engage in a 10-month schedule of service learning, college entrance exam preparation courses, leadership development activities, financial aid workshops and career awareness exposure, giving participants the opportunity to set themselves up for success; and

WHEREAS, Black Achievers youths, for the sixth year in a row, enjoyed remarkable success featuring a high school graduation rate of 100%, and each of this year's 16 graduating seniors is enrolled in a two- or four-year college or is entering a branch of the armed services this coming fall; and

WHEREAS, Black Achievers is made possible through the involvement of more than 121 businesses and 950 adult leaders who provide support and guidance to the youth participants as they become ethical professionals, entrepreneurs and informed citizens; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the Black Achievers on reaching a milestone of 35 years of service to the Milwaukee community, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for it continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Black Achievers.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez and Mark A. Borkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 1, 2016.