BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution recognizing Officer Jose Acevedo from the Milwaukee Police Department for an act of bravery.

WHEREAS,

OFFICER JOSE ACEVEDO

was recognized for an act of selfless bravery on July 26, 2016 while off-duty as a Milwaukee police officer; and

WHEREAS, Officer Jose Acevedo, the Community Liaison for Milwaukee's 2nd Aldermanic District, was off-duty and attending a tailgate at Miller Park when a woman yelled that a six-year-old boy with autism that had wondered away from his father was in the Menomonee River near the pedestrian bridge; and

WHEREAS, Officer Jose Acevedo and his colleague Detective Alexander Ayala immediately rushed to the scene and brought the boy to safety on shore, where he was reunited with his parents and no medical attention was required; and

WHEREAS, the immediate and selfless response of Officer Jose Acevedo helped to prevent a potentially dangerous situation and demonstrate that even when off-duty, Milwaukee's law enforcement officers are always there to serve and protect the community; and

WHEREAS, Officer Jose Acevedo is also widely known and respected by City residents as Vice President of the Latinos Peace Officers Association in Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Officer Jose Acevedo exemplifies the very best of our concerned and engaged citizenry, and his selfless actions speak volumes about his personal beliefs and his concern for the safety and well-being of his fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and commends Jose Acevedo for his courage, concern and bravery, and extends its sincere appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Officer Jose Acevedo, an exemplary citizen and hero.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 1, 2016: José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Cavalier Johnson, Nik Kovac, Robert Bauman, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, Khalif Rainey, Robert G. Donovan, Chantia Lewis, Michael J. Murphy, Mark. A Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Tony Zielinski and Russell W. Stamper, II.