BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution recognizing Detective Alexander Ayala from the Milwaukee Police Department for an act of bravery.

WHEREAS,

DETECTIVE ALEXANDER AYALA

was recognized for an act of selfless bravery on July 26, 2016 while off-duty as a Milwaukee police detective; and

WHEREAS, Detective Alexander Ayala, assigned to Milwaukee's 2nd Aldermanic District, was off-duty and attending a tailgate at Miller Park when a woman yelled that a six-year-old boy with autism that had wondered away from his father was in the Menomonee River near the pedestrian bridge; and

WHEREAS, Detective Alexander Ayala and his colleague Officer Jose Acevedo immediately rushed to the scene and brought the boy to safety on shore, where he was reunited with his parents and no medical attention was required; and

WHEREAS, the immediate and selfless response of Detective Alexander Ayala helped to prevent a potentially dangerous situation and demonstrate that even when off-duty, Milwaukee's law enforcement officers are always there to serve and protect the community; and

WHEREAS, Detective Alexander Ayala is also widely known and respected by City residents as President of the Latinos Peace Officers Association in Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Detective Alexander Ayala exemplifies the very best of our concerned and engaged citizenry, and his selfless actions speak volumes about his personal beliefs and his concern for the safety and well-being of his fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and commends Detective Alexander Ayala for his courage, concern and bravery, and extends its sincere appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Detective Alexander Ayala, an exemplary citizen and hero.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 1, 2016: José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Cavalier Johnson, Nik Kovac, Robert Bauman, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, Khalif Rainey, Robert G. Donovan, Chantia Lewis, Michael J. Murphy, Mark. A Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Tony Zielinski and Russell W. Stamper, II.