BY ALDS. BOHL, PÉREZ, MURPHY, ZIELINSKI, DONOVAN, BAUMAN, COGGS, KOVAC, HAMILTON, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, JOHNSON, LEWIS, RAINEY

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Randall "Randy" Smith.

## WHEREAS,

## **RANDALL "RANDY" SMITH**

passed from this life on July 4, 2016, at the age of 52, and a funeral service was held on July 14, 2016 at Our Redeemer Lutheran Church, 10025 W. North Ave., in Wauwatosa; and

WHEREAS, Randall "Randy" Smith was born and reared in Wisconsin and attended Oak Creek High School, graduated with a (BS) Finance degree from Carroll University in Waukesha, and coached football for more than 15 years at several Wisconsin high schools; and

WHEREAS, Randy Smith joined the Milwaukee Police Department as a police officer in May 1992, and his dedicated tenure included serving on the TEU (Tactical Enforcement Unit), and in 2014 he was promoted to detective and served in the Investigations and Intelligence Bureau until the time of his passing; and

**WHEREAS,** Randy spent nearly a decade as a task force member of the U.S. Marshals Service Fugitive Task Force, and during that time he helped bring to justice more than 2,500 fugitives – including many Milwaukee Police Department fugitives who left the country to avoid prosecution; and

WHEREAS, Randall "Randy" Smith was the dear son of Jilon A. (nee Vogl) Smith and James A. (Joan Welch) Smith, was the loving brother of Jason A. (Sara) Smith, Jacqueline R. Smith and Jessica M. Wojczulis, was the dear uncle of Lauren, Peyton and Aiden Smith, Jennah, Kennedy and Mia Smith, and Gabby Wojczulis, and leaves to cherish his memory a host of other loving relatives and friends; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Randall "Randy" Smith and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine man; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Randall "Randy" Smith.

Introduced by Common Council members Jim Bohl, José G. Pérez, Michael J. Murphy, Tony Zielinski, Robert G. Donovan, Milele A. Coggs, Nik Kovac, Ashanti Hamilton, Robert J. Bauman, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Cavalier Johnson, Chantia Lewis and Khalif J. Rainey and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 26, 2016.