ALDS. RAINEY, MURPHY, BORKOWSKI, COGGS, BOHL, PÉREZ

Resolution congratulating Dasha Kelly on being named one of the City of Milwaukee's Artists of the Year

WHEREAS,

## DASHA KELLY

was named one of the City of Milwaukee's 2016 Artists of the Year by the City of Milwaukee Arts Board and was honored at a reception on June 14, 2016 at the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts; and

**WHEREAS**, Dasha Kelly, a writer, poet and spoken word artist, graduated from Antioch University with a Master of Fine Arts degree in creative writing; and

**WHEREAS**, Dasha Kelly has performed throughout the United States and Canada, on the final season of HBO's "Def Poetry Jam," and on stage with the U.K.'s Linton Kwesi Johnson, former United States poet laureate Elizabeth Alexander, Wisconsin poet laureate Max Garland and Grammy-nominated artist Angie Stone; and

WHEREAS, Dasha Kelly has written for "Upscale," "Black Enterprise" and "Milwaukee" magazines and has authored two novels and two collections of poems, essays and short stories; and

**WHEREAS**, Dasha Kelly served as the writer-in-residence for the historic Pfister Hotel, founded the Still Waters Collective, a Milwaukee-based arts education and community building initiative, and was selected as a U.S. Embassy Arts Envoy to teach and perform in Botswana, Africa; and

**WHEREAS**, The City of Milwaukee Arts Board has recognized 36 local artists since the inception of the Artists of the Year Award in 1995, including Dasha Kelly with this 21<sup>st</sup> annual Artist of the Year Award; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Dasha Kelly on her award, thanks her for her contributions to the creative community and wishes for her continued health and happiness; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Dasha Kelly.

Introduced by Common Council members Khalif J. Rainey, Michael J. Murphy, Mark A. Borkowski, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl and José G. Pérez and approved by the Milwaukee Common Council on July 6, 2016.