BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution congratulating Ray 'Boo Boy' Knox on the honor bestowed to him by the Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club on the occasion of its 11th annual Negro Leagues Tribute event on June 25, 2016.

WHEREAS,

RAY 'BOO BOY' KNOX

was honored during the 11th annual Negro Leagues Tribute event on June 25, 2016 at Miller Park during the Brewers – Nationals game, on a day devoted to honoring the great players of the Negro Leagues; and

WHEREAS, Ray 'Boo Boy' Knox was born in 1932 in McComb, Mississippi and went on to achieve success and recognition as a member of the Negro Leagues; and

WHEREAS, Ray 'Boo Boy' Knox began playing baseball in the Negro Leagues in 1949 at the age of 17 and was one of the youngest Negro League Players ever signed; and

WHEREAS, Ray 'Boo Boy' Knox played catcher for the Chicago American Giants and later for the New Orleans Eagles and was considered one of the best catchers in the game; and

WHEREAS, The Brewers have recognized 21 other Negro League players to date at the annual event, which includes an auction of Milwaukee Bears uniforms worn by Brewers players and coaches, and the proceeds from the auction go to the Brewers Community Foundation to benefit the Yesterday's Negro League Baseball Players Foundation and the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum in Kansas City; and

WHEREAS, For his invaluable contributions to baseball, Ray 'Boo Boy' Knox had his name placed on a permanent display at Miller Park, and he will be inducted into the Yesterday's Negro League Hall of Fame, located at the Mother Kathryn Daniels' Conference Center on Sunday, June 26; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Ray 'Boo Boy' Knox on the honor bestowed to him by the Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club on the occasion of its 11th annual Negro Leagues Tribute event, thanks him on behalf of the community for his many contributions to baseball and wishes him continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Ray 'Boo Boy' Knox.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 6, 2016: Russell W. Stamper, II, Ashanti Hamilton, Nik Kovac, Robert J. Bauman, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, Robert G. Donovan, Michael J. Murphy, José G. Pérez, Terry L. Witkowski, Mark A. Borkowski, Tony Zielinski, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Chantia Lewis.