BY ALDS. RAINEY, BOHL, BORKOWSKI, COGGS, PÉREZ, LEWIS

Resolution recognizing Yvonne McCaskill as a 2016 Women of Influence Award recipient.

WHEREAS,

YVONNE MCCASKILL

was honored for her accomplishments and leadership at the annual Women of Influence Awards Luncheon, held on June 17, 2016 at the Wisconsin Center, 400 W. Wisconsin Ave.; and

WHEREAS, Yvonne McCaskill retired from the Milwaukee Public Schools after more than 30 years of service to represent her community as a member of the Northwest Side Community Development Corporation's Board of Directors, actively participating in strategic neighborhood planning aimed at improving safety and development on the Northwest Side; and

WHEREAS, Yvonne McCaskill, in response to rising crime near the home she has owned and lived in for more than 43 years, led the formation of the Century City Tri-Angle Neighborhood Association (CCTNA), an alliance of residents and leaders intended to foster a stable resident base, abundant employment opportunities and thriving families; and

WHEREAS, Yvonne McCaskill has guided CCTNA in launching numerous initiatives, including the installation of rain barrels, the development of rain gardens to better manage storm water and the improvement of the park at 29th St. and Melvina St., and has become a model for fellow citizens who wish to improve and sustain their neighborhoods; and

WHEREAS, Milwaukee Business Journal recognized Yvonne McCaskill and 28 other women who have created innovative products, exemplified leadership, inspired future generations and made their community a better place; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith commends Yvonne McCaskill on being awarded one of the 2016 Women of Influence Awards, and wishes for her continued success, health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Yvonne McCaskill, an outstanding leader and invaluable member of the community.

Introduced by Common Council members Khalif J. Rainey, Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez and Chantia Lewis and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 6, 2016.