Resolution recognizing and thanking Gabrielle Tietyen-Mlengana for her service to the City of Milwaukee as 3<sup>rd</sup> District Youth Council Member.

WHEREAS.

## **GABRIELLE TIETYEN-MLENGANA**

made a lasting and positive impact on the City of Milwaukee and the 3<sup>rd</sup> Aldermanic District during her four years as a member of the Milwaukee Youth Council; and

**WHEREAS**, Gabrielle Tietyen-Mlengana is the longest-serving Youth Council Member to date, having dedicated the past four years to serving her community and representing the youth of Milwaukee's 3<sup>rd</sup> Aldermanic District; and

WHEREAS, Gabrielle Tietyen-Mlengana has grown as a conscientious and engaging young woman, leader and advocate during her time with the Milwaukee Youth Council and has served as a model citizen in her commendable efforts to make her community a better place; and

WHEREAS, Gabrielle Tietyen-Mlengana has also demonstrated excellence outside of the Milwaukee Youth Council, volunteering with River Keeper Cleanup and the Wisconsin Humane Society and participating in numerous extracurricular activities including National Honor Society, student government, music, softball, swimming, Latin Club, Improv Comedy and Middle School Forensics; and

WHEREAS, Gabrielle Tietyen-Mlengana has graduated from Rufus King High School and looks forward to beginning her undergraduate career at Macalester College in Saint Paul, Minnesota; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and thanks Gabrielle Tietyen-Mlengana for her four years of service as 3<sup>rd</sup> District Youth Council Member, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community and the citizens of Milwaukee, and wishes her the best of luck in all of her future endeavors; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Gabrielle Tietyen-Mlengana, an outstanding civic leader and invaluable asset to the community.

Introduced by Common Council members Nik Kovac, Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski, Milele A. Coggs and José G. Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 6, 2016.