## 2006 ANNUAL REPORT OF THE ANTI-GRAFFITI POLICY COMMITTEE

Members of the Committee are:
Ald. Tony Zielinski – Chair
Ald. Terry Witkowski – Vice-Chair
Ald. Robert Donovan
Richard Badger – representative from the Mayor's Office
Eddie Paez – Appointed by the Mayor's Office
Scott Gunderson – Appointed by the Mayor's Office

In 2006, the Committee met 5 times (March, May, July, September and November) with updates provided by the following city departments: Neighborhood Services, Public Works, Municipal Court and the Police Department. The Milwaukee Christian Center also provided updates at the meetings.

In this year, the Committee spent time related to the decrease in Community Development Block Grant for graffiti abatement activities both by city departments and by private agencies. Increasing graffiti vandalism needed to be addressed at the same time that federal funding to local agencies and governments was decreasing, which concerned committee members as well as citizens who regularly attended these meetings.

A private entity titled T.R.U.E. SKOOL, Inc. was invited to appear before the committee as it had organized a graffiti event on the Summerfest grounds. Unfortunately, no-one appeared from that organization at the designated date and time, but representatives did appear at the following meeting to discuss the group's goals and mission.

The Committee also met with Serve Marketing regarding its teen pregnancy prevention initiative signs and discussed how/if these signs differed from graffiti vandalism. The Committee noted that this item was scheduled before the Committee for discussion purposes and the Committee has no legal authority to prohibit these signs.

The Committee also reviewed how other cities across the country are addressing and preventing graffiti vandalism by having a representative from the National Council to Prevent Delinquency address the Committee. This representative discussed the Model Anti-Graffiti ordinance published in 1996 by the International Municipal Lawyers Association with Committee members.