BY ALDS. WITKOWSKI, COGGS, BOHL, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ

Resolution celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Campbell Soup Milwaukee Flavor Plant.

WHEREAS,

CAMPBELL SOUP SUPPLY COMPANY L.L.C.

celebrated its 50th anniversary on May 20, 2016 at 500 W. Edgerton Ave.; and

WHEREAS, The Campbell Soup Flavor Plant was built in 1966, as a hedge against the supply of yeast at the company's New Jersey facilities, and they began production of yeast extracts in April 1966, and in 1972 they expanded to support production of a margarine flavor, in 1973 they made a new product from torula yeast and malt sprouts that allowed partial replacement of MSG in soups, in 1983 they produced another innovation by making their MSG replacement out of brewer's yeast, and in 1988 production of self-manufacturing flavors began at the Milwaukee facility; and

WHEREAS, The Campbell Soup Flavor Plant continued in its quest to make MSG-free soup by developing a new flavor enhancement technique in 1990 that delivered a more robust flavor and replaced MSG entirely, they expanded again in 1995 to support the production of USDA inspected chicken, beef, and pork flavors, and in 2003 they developed another new product that significantly enhanced flavor while reducing the amount of salt in certain soups; and

WHEREAS, The Campbell Soup Flavor Plant became part of Campbell Soup Supply Company, LLC, and in 2006 they developed superior yeast extracts that provided a much cleaner flavor while still meeting the clean label requirements, in 2013 flavor operations were consolidated into Milwaukee from the New Jersey site, and in 2014 they dedicated resources in flavor enhancement focused on gluten free and organic flavors; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the Campbell Soup Flavor Plant on celebrating its 50th anniversary in Milwaukee, and wishes for its continued success and prosperity.

Introduced by Common Council members Terry L. Witkowski, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Mark A. Borkowski and José G. Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 24, 2016.