BY ALDS. BORKOWSKI, BOHL, COGGS, PEREZ, MURPHY

Resolution recognizing the 2016 Arbor Day celebration at Milwaukee's Fairview Elementary School.

WHEREAS,

FAIRVIEW ELEMENTARY SCHOOL

marked the historic celebration of Arbor Day on April 29, 2016; and

- WHEREAS, Students, teachers, staff, parents and special guests celebrated Milwaukee's 51 observance of Arbor Day with a special program highlighting the importance of trees in their world and in their daily lives; and
- WHEREAS, First observed in Nebraska in 1872, Arbor Day began as an effort to promote re-forestation in areas where logging had left in its wake countless acres of barren forest land, and in Wisconsin Arbor Day was first observed in 1889 for the same reasons; and
- WHEREAS, In metropolitan areas like Milwaukee, Arbor Day takes on a new significance, where development threatens the loss of trees and green areas that are indispensable to the environment as providers of oxygen, as filters of the air and as inhibitors of noise; and
- WHEREAS, Arbor Day offers an ideal opportunity for people of all ages, especially our youth and senior citizens, to take part in organized community projects designed to preserve and improve the environment; and
- WHEREAS, Through Arbor Day observances like the one at Fairview Elementary School and with continued planting of trees throughout the City of Milwaukee and by working with students, teachers and administrators of both public and private schools the community can work together to ensure the preservation of the urban forest and a very valuable natural resource; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes the 2016 Arbor Day celebration at Fairview Elementary School and commends its students, teachers, staff and parents for working to preserve a very valuable natural resource; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Fairview Elementary School.

Introduced by Common Council members Mark A. Borkowski, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, Michael J. Murphy and José G Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 24, 2016.