BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution congratulating Eddie L. Strong Jr. on his retirement from the Milwaukee Police Department.

WHEREAS,

EDDIE L. STRONG Jr.

retired with pride and satisfaction as a police sergeant with the Milwaukee Police Department on May 20, 2016 after more than 25 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Eddie L. Strong Jr. began his career with the Milwaukee Police Department in 1990 as a Police Officer assigned to Police District Seven, continued his career in the Special Operations Bureau, and was later promoted to the rank of sergeant, serving many divisions throughout his tenure, including the Tactical Enforcement Unit, Police District Five, Professional Performance Division – Internal Affairs and the Executive Protection Unit; and

WHEREAS, Eddie L. Strong, Jr, as a member of the Executive Protection Unit, protected and served Mayor Tom Barrett and the members of the Common Council during his term of service; and

WHEREAS, Eddie L. Strong Jr. received a Superior Achievement Award in 1991 after taking action to rescue trapped occupants of a house fire, disregarding his own personal safety, and received a second Superior Achievement Award in 1996 for his involvement in a campaign that led to 287 felony arrests and 293 cleared complaints; and

WHEREAS, Eddie L. Strong, Jr. gained and displayed expertise through his work, performed with confidence and skill during his employment, completely meeting the challenges of his responsibilities as a police sergeant by dealing fairly and effectively with the citizens of Milwaukee during his lengthy term of service to the essential task of law enforcement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Eddie L. Strong Jr. on his retirement from the Milwaukee Police Department, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Eddie L. Strong Jr., an outstanding employee.

Introduced and approved on May 24, 2016 by all members of the Common Council: Cavalier Johnson, Ashanti Hamilton, Nik Kovac, Robert J. Bauman, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, Khalif J. Rainey, Robert G. Donovan, Chantia Lewis, Michael J. Murphy, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Terry L. Witkowski, Tony Zielinski, and Russell W. Stamper, II.