## BY ALDS. PERÉZ, BOHL, COGGS, BORKOWSKI

Resolution recognizing and thanking Carlos Gomez for his contributions to the community and his efforts on behalf of LULAC Council 333.

WHEREAS,

## **CARLOS GOMEZ**

was recognized on Saturday, April 9, 2016 for his contributions to the community and his efforts on behalf of LULAC Council 333; and,

WHEREAS, Carlos Gomez was traded from the Twins to the Milwaukee Brewers in 2009, and enjoyed one of his best seasons with the Crew in 2013 recording a .284 batting average, a .338 on-base percentage, 27 doubles, 10 triples, 24 home runs, 80 runs scored, 73 RBI's and 40 stolen bases, and he had a spectacular season defensively, leading the league in defensive putouts and finishing second in the National League in Wins Above Replacement (WAR) with 8.4; and

WHEREAS, Carlos Gomez won the NL Gold Glove Award for center field, the first Brewer to win the award since Robin Yount in 1982, and he also provided drama and excitement to the fans with his exuberant style of play and enthusiasm for the game; and

WHEREAS, Carlos Gomez dedicated his time to help LULAC Council 333 raise scholarship funds for Milwaukee Hispanic youth to pursue a college degree, and LULAC Council 333 has provided more than 29 Hispanic youth with a Carlos Gomez college scholarship; and

WHEREAS, Carlos Gomez's teammates have agreed to maintain his commitment to working with LULAC Council 333 to raise college scholarship funding, and Carlos Gomez has committed to working with a Houston LULAC Council to continue to raise funds for Hispanic college scholarships; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee recognizes and thanks Carlos Gomez for his contributions to the community and his efforts on behalf of LULAC Council 333 and wishes for him success in all of his future endeavors; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Carlos Gomez and LULAC Council 333.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs and Mark A. Borkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 15, 2016.