Resolution in observance of National Service Recognition Day on April 5, 2016.

WHEREAS,

NATIONAL SERVICE RECOGNITION DAY

was observed on April 5, 2016 at 100 Manpower Pl. by the Corporation for National and Community Service and volunteers with AmeriCorps and Senior Corps; and

WHEREAS, Service to others is a hallmark of the American character, central to how we meet our challenges, and national service participants increase the impact of the organizations they serve, both through their direct service and by managing millions of additional volunteers; and

WHEREAS, AmeriCorps and Senior Corps participants serve in more than 50,000 locations across the country, bolstering the civic, neighborhood, and faith-based organizations that are so vital to our economic and social well-being, from educating students for the jobs of the 21st century and supporting veterans and military families to providing health services and helping communities recover from natural disasters; and

WHEREAS, National service participants demonstrate commitment, dedication, and patriotism by making an intensive commitment to service, a commitment that remains with them in their future endeavors; and

WHEREAS, The Corporation for National and Community Service shares a priority with county officials and mayors nationwide to engage citizens, improve lives and strengthen communities, and is joining with the National League of Cities, National Association of Counties, Cities of Service, and mayors and county officials across the country for National Service Recognition Day; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes the service of community volunteers in programs including AmeriCorps and Senior Corps, thanks them for their many positive contributions to the city, and extends wishes for continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Corporation for National and Community Service.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, José G. Pérez and Mark A. Borkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 15, 2016.