Resolution congratulating the Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra for being named as a 2015 winner of the National Arts and Humanities Youth Program Awards.

WHEREAS.

## THE MILWAUKEE YOUTH SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

received one of the prestigious 2015 National Arts and Humanities Youth Program Awards during a special ceremony at the White House on November 17, 2015; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra was honored as a 2015 winner of the National Arts and Humanities Youth Program Awards, the highest honor for youth arts and humanities programs throughout the United States, presented by the President's Committee on the Arts and the Humanities; and

WHEREAS, The award recognizes the orchestra's innovative Community Partnership Programs, launched in 2003 to reach and support students facing barriers to music study, and the programs include nine diverse offerings that bring transformative music training to youth, creating equity and access to music study by providing the social, emotional and financial support to excel in their musical training and development; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra was one of only 12 bestowed out of a field of 350 nominations and 50 finalists, and only two programs from Wisconsin have received this award since its inception in 1998, and the Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra has been among the 50 finalists for the award six times; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra on being named as a 2015 winner of the National Arts and Humanities Youth Program Awards, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for it continued success; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez and Mark A. Borkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 1, 2016.